THE WHITE STRIPES companions of the night
August 22, 2003 | 10:43 am

its august bank holiday and so that means festival time around here again and i wish i was one of the revellers again like i was last year! i had a great time last year with my exflatmate cerian. depite wanting to kill her at one point!

we saw so many different bands... new found glory (cerian had some bloke land on top of her and i almost went crowd-surfing- alsolutly amazing and really got the crowd going!)... weezer (perfect for a chilling time)... prodigy (great for a show-stopping finale)... sum41 (perfect for 15yr old punk know-it-alls!)... the hives (just amazing!)... puddle of mudd (not as good as you think they'd be- in fact really crap!)... and loads of others

it was also the place where i was found to be stood in awe of the garage/rock/blues that is the band that decorate this diary. it was 'hotel yorba' that had me hooked and 'hotel yorba' that will always remain one of my favourite white stripes tracks.

i literally was stood there in awe with my spine tingling, completly lost in the music. like id gone back in time or something like that. it was just amazing... and even more amazing to find out the next week that i was in 'nme' on the white stripes poster!

jimmy eat world are a great favourite band of mine. i now have all the albums but seing them live was great as well. i was just in my element but only could watch half their show as my other favourite band that i had come to see were on at the same time... muse!

they were my highlight, not just because of the show they put on but becuase of the weather! seeing muse in a thunderstorm with lightning going on and a spectualar light show that muse had going on.

i had gone with my friend cerian and she'd never seen me in my element like i was then despite knowing me for 3years and living with me for 2 of those years! i ran round the field getting soaked and ran down the front of the stage and got some pictures of the band live. oh my god does matt bellamy (lead singer of muse) look really sexy in real life!

the whole thing was amazing and definitly an experience i will never forget. like being sat in the tent in the pouring rain listening to the foo fighters was another highlight. just something that brought a smile to your face. you couldnt not smile!

this year however i'm too ill to go. my mate jez and i were going to order tickets for this year when i came out of hospital as linkin park are playing but the weekend tickets were all sold out :(

although metallica are there- i have never liked that band!- its a great line up with a lot of my favourite bands, despite lostprophets pulling out, once including the white stripes before jack hurt his finger in a car crash. sniff sniff! hope its all better soon.

so the memories of last year have come flooding back and i realise that every festival is worth its time, money and every effort.

im not so sad... linkin park are back here in november so im ordering my ticket for then when they come out. my christmas present to myself i reckon!

looking back on it i had a great year last year and i hope the revellers this year do as well!

<<��

member of the STRIPES diaryring

join - members - home - Diaryland

>>




new
old
mail
book
notes
profile
host
design