THE WHITE STRIPES dancing in the dark
June 21, 2003 | 12:01 pm

i only got up abaout 45minutes ago!!! thats really late for me but i do have a really good justification for my actions...

i spent my night queuing for harry potter and the order of the phoenix! yes i was one of those sad people that had nothing better to do at 00.01am then to queue in a bookstore for one of the most sought after books.. ever! as yet i havent started reading it and i dont want to know who dies (my theory is that it is hermione!) from someone telling me.

there was such a good atmosphere in the store. everyone was talking to everyone else and there was staff handing out books to be read as well as drinks and biscuits being handed out. there was also a harry potter quiz going on! i didnt enter as i didnt want to seem like the oldest kid there. a 23yr old vs loads of 8yr olds! especially a 23yr old who did her university dissertation on the very reason why she was up at a bookstore that late!!!

as i was queuing i decided to text my friend marge and as i got three letters into the text she called me and both of us were so excited about the book. shes just like me. i love marge. not anyway like i love jack white though. when 'harry potter and the chamber of secrets' came out at the cinema i went with her to see it. you didnt need to ask me twice despite it being the second time i would have seen it! we had a blast!

when marge called i was holding a copy of the book that this girl behind me in the queue had got for me. id got talking to them rather than staring at a wall in a slow-moving queue! when she gave it to me i didnt know whether to cry or what. but i was really thankful that she'd thought of me to get it, as well as being so proud that i was finally holding the sought after book. i read the back blurb to marge who listened intently and both of us were turning into the mad 8yr old kids that packed the store out. sometimes i really do forget that i am actually 23!!!

buying the book was a moment ill never forget as it was amazing. they handed me a gift-wrapped book in exchange for the one that had been given to me. i was now part of harry potter history and i have the certificate to prove it!!!

the rest of my day had been fun. id been working but it was the day before my 3wk holiday and me and katherine, this girl who works with me, were having the time of our lives. we get on well being similar in age and crap like that. shes a right laugh and im glad ive got the summer working with her before she goes back to university

<<��

member of the STRIPES diaryring

join - members - home - Diaryland

>>




new
old
mail
book
notes
profile
host
design